How to Compare Micro Speaker SPL, Power and Impedance Correctly
Published: 2026-09-09 | Use case: OEM engineers and program procurement who have already shortlisted two or three micro speaker drivers and now need to compare the published sensitivity, power and impedance numbers head to head — knowing that the same dB figure can mean three different things depending on the test basis, and that 'rated' and 'max' power are defined differently from one supplier to the next.
Two micro speaker datasheets that look comparable often are not. Take Shenzhen Hongsheng Electronic Industry Co. LTD as an example: within one Hongsheng catalog sample, sensitivity appears on three different bases — a free-field 1 W figure measured into a stated cavity, a fixed 2.83 Vrms figure (HS001846H), and a coupler reading of 123 dB at 50 mW on a receiver-class part (HS080923H), which is a different scale entirely. Power has the same problem: 'rated' and 'maximum' are not defined identically by every supplier, so a 1.25x ratio between them on one datasheet does not carry the same meaning as 1.25x on another. This article sets out the reading order that makes a comparison table actually compare what it claims to.
1. Why Micro Speaker Spec Numbers Disagree Across Datasheets
Short answer: Because the numbers are measured under different conditions. A dB figure, a power figure and an impedance figure are each shorthand for a test setup — and the setup is what actually differs between two datasheets.
Micro speaker datasheets are written against measurement conventions that diverge as soon as the part leaves the lab. IEC 60268-5 (Sound system equipment — Part 5: Loudspeakers) is the reference for free-field sensitivity, frequency response, power ratings and impedance. IEC 60268-7 covers measurement methods for headphones and earphones, including ear-coupled measurement arrangements; receiver-class components measured under those conditions can produce figures that are not directly comparable with free-field loudspeaker sensitivity. Both are valid in their own context. The trouble starts when a procurement team places a 95 dB free-field figure beside a 123 dB coupler figure and treats them as the same property of the same class of part.
Power has the same issue, for a different reason. Rated power and maximum power are not universally defined in exactly the same way across suppliers. One vendor's 'rated' may be a continuous sine rating at a stated distortion limit; another's may be a program-material rating. Before either number is used for system design, the test signal, duration, distortion criterion and failure criterion should be confirmed with the supplier.
2. The SPL Comparability Problem (Three Measurement Bases)
Short answer: Never compare two micro speaker SPL values until the drive level, measurement distance, test frequency and enclosure condition are the same. The dB number alone does not identify which basis was used — the surrounding text usually does.
Three distinct bases appear across the Hongsheng catalog sample. Treat every dB figure as incomplete until its basis is on the same line as the number.
Table 1: The three sensitivity measurement bases that appear on micro speaker datasheets, with the conditions and what each number really means.
Measurement basis | How to recognise it on the datasheet | What the dB figure represents | Comparison rule |
Free-field 1 W into a stated cavity | SPL: xx dB at 2KHz/10cm/1.0W/nCC BOX | Sound pressure 10 cm in front of the driver, scaled to 1 W of electrical input, measured in a box of stated volume | Compare like with like: same distance, same drive level, same cavity volume |
Fixed voltage 2.83 Vrms | SPL: 94±3 dB (2.83Vrms input/10cm @2000Hz) | Sound pressure at exactly 2.83 V — 1 W into 8 Ω, but 2 W into 4 Ω, so about 3 dB higher than a 1 W figure on a 4 Ω part | Convert to a 1 W basis before ranking: no change on 8 Ω, subtract about 3 dB on 4 Ω |
Coupler measurement (receiver class) | SPL: 123 dB at 1 kHz 50 mW | Sound pressure measured into an ear-coupler at 50 mW input — a receiver scale with a different physical setup | Treat as a different property entirely; never compare a coupler dB to a free-field dB |
Free-field 1 W is the most common basis in this class, and it carries a secondary variable that many datasheets compress into a single line: the test cavity volume. Some models state it (HS151125H at 1 cc, HS361331H at 4 cc, HS341135H at 3 cc for SPL but 2 cc for F0); others do not, which anchors the sensitivity number to a box the datasheet never names. Two 95 dB figures are not comparable if their cavities differ, and two 99 dB figures are not comparable either. On any row-level comparison, the cavity belongs in the same cell as the dB.
3. Power Ratings: Rated vs Max, and What to Confirm First
Short answer: Rated power and maximum power are not defined identically across suppliers. Confirm the test signal, duration, distortion criterion and failure criterion before either number drives a design decision.
In the Hongsheng catalog sample, the max-to-rated ratio clusters around 1.20x to 1.25x, which is about +1 dB of difference — a small band, and a useful reminder that 'max' is not a large reserve. But the ratio is a description of how one catalog writes its datasheets, not an industry definition. Vendors also publish under other names — program power, continuous power, peak power — and those terms are not interchangeable.
Table 2: Max-to-rated ratio bands and what each one implies for the design conversation with a supplier.
Max / Rated ratio | How common in the Hongsheng catalog sample | Approximate difference | What to confirm with the supplier |
Around 1.167x | Rare | About +0.7 dB | Test signal and duration; a narrow band leaves little room for transient material |
1.20x – 1.25x | Most common | About +1 dB | Whether 'max' is a survival limit or a short-duration program rating |
Around 1.33x | Occasional | About +1.25 dB | Distortion criterion at the maximum figure; useful for transient-heavy material if confirmed |
1.50x – 1.60x | Rare | About +1.8 – 2 dB | Verify by measurement; a wide published band should be reproducible on the bench |
The practical rule that follows: use the rated-power condition as the primary reference for continuous operation, and confirm the allowable duty cycle, signal crest factor, thermal conditions and maximum-power test method with the supplier before fixing the system operating point. Two parts with the same rated power but different published ratios are not automatically equivalent — the difference may be a measurement convention rather than a real difference in thermal capability.
4. Impedance, DCR and Load-Line: Apples-to-Apples Impedance Comparison
Short answer: Nominal impedance is an AC quantity and DCR is a DC quantity; they are related but not by a single universal ratio. Choose the impedance class to match what the amplifier can actually drive.
Impedance appears on essentially every datasheet in this class. What is often missing is the DC resistance and the relationship between the two. DCR should be stated where relevant, and its relationship to nominal impedance verified against the driver's design and the supplier's measurement method — it is not a fixed universal percentage. A DCR that reads at or above the nominal figure usually indicates shorted turns; an open reading indicates a broken coil. Either way, the useful check is against the supplier's own specified DCR, not against a rule of thumb.
The class selection has a system consequence. Choosing 4 Ω rather than 8 Ω is a commitment to roughly twice the amplifier current at the same rail voltage, and therefore to roughly twice the requested power. The figures in Table 3 are ideal BTL calculations and do not account for amplifier losses, output-stage resistance, current limit, thermal foldback or supply sag — a real Class-D part rated at 3.1 W on paper will deliver less, and the gap widens as the rail sags.
Table 3: Ideal BTL output before amplifier losses and current / thermal limits — three common rails, by impedance class.
Rail voltage | Power into 4 Ω (BTL ideal) | Power into 8 Ω (BTL ideal) | Difference |
3.3 V | 1.4 W | 0.7 W | Roughly +3 dB on 4 Ω; twice the current draw |
5.0 V | 3.1 W | 1.6 W | Roughly +3 dB on 4 Ω; twice the current draw |
12.0 V | 18 W | 9 W | Roughly +3 dB on 4 Ω; twice the current draw |
The asymmetry matters when the amplifier and the part are mismatched. An amplifier rated for 8 Ω driving a 4 Ω load runs at roughly twice its design current, which trips thermal foldback in many Class-D parts and can damage a linear output stage. The reverse is generally the safer direction: a higher-impedance load draws less current and stays inside the design envelope, at the cost of output. Match the impedance class to the amplifier, and confirm the number against the amplifier datasheet rather than the rail voltage alone.
5. Ten Micro Speakers Compared Across SPL, Power and Impedance
Short answer: Each row below exposes a different comparability problem: a coupler scale, a fixed-voltage figure, a cavity that differs between the SPL line and the F0 line, and bare drivers with no declared cavity.
Ten models laid out so each row exposes a different comparability problem. Use the table as a worked example, then apply the same reading to your own shortlist.
Table 4: Ten micro speakers, each picked to expose a different numeric comparability issue.
Model | SPL figure as printed | SPL basis | Rated / Max power | Impedance | What this row reveals |
HS080923H | 123 dB at 1 kHz 50 mW | Coupler (receiver class) | 50 mW / 80 mW | 32 Ω | Coupler number is not on the same scale as free-field; this is a receiver part |
HS001846H | 94 ± 3 dB (2.83 Vrms / 10 cm @2 kHz) | Fixed voltage (2.83 Vrms) | 2.0 W / 2.5 W | 4 Ω | Subtract about 3 dB to reach a 1 W basis on 4 Ω — roughly 91 dB at 1 W |
HS151125H | 95 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 1.0 W / 1 cc BOX | Free-field 1 W, 1 cc cavity | 1.0 W / 1.2 W | 8 Ω | Reference basis at a declared 1 cc cavity |
HS151130H | 95 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 1.0 W / 1 cc BOX | Free-field 1 W, 1 cc cavity | 1.0 W / 1.2 W | 8 Ω | Identical 95 dB to HS151125H but thicker (3.0 vs 2.5 mm) — thickness buys rigidity, not sensitivity |
HS341135H | 98 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 2.0 W / 3 cc BOX | Free-field at 3 cc | 2.0 W / 2.5 W | 4 Ω | SPL cavity (3 cc) and F0 cavity (2 cc) differ — both need publishing |
HS361331H | 99 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 2.0 W / 4 cc BOX | Free-field at 4 cc | 2.0 W / 2.5 W | 4 Ω | Highest SPL on this outline; pair with its 2 cc F0 cavity in the host design |
HS003050H | 97 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 2.0 W | Free-field (cavity not stated) | 2.0 W / 2.5 W | 8 Ω | Bare driver; cavity not declared — ask for the measurement box |
HS003050H50 | 98 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 2.5 W | Free-field (cavity not stated) | 2.5 W / 3.0 W | 4 Ω | Lead-wire variant; 4 Ω draws about twice the current — the rail must agree |
HS284011H | 95 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 3.0 W | Free-field (cavity not stated) | 3.0 W / 4.0 W | 4 Ω | Only catalog model with spider positioning; wider published headroom band |
HS402055H | 97 dB at 2 kHz / 10 cm / 2.0 W | Free-field (cavity not stated) | 2.0 W / 2.5 W | 4 Ω | IP68 + secondary magnet + lead wire + spring terminal |
Five readings follow from that table. First, the 123 dB and the 95 dB figures describe different categories of part; rank within a class, never across classes. Second, two identical 95 dB figures from the same outline family (HS151125H, HS151130H) show that thickness buys mechanical rigidity rather than output. Third, 99 dB at 4 cc and 95 dB at 1 cc cannot be ranked without knowing which cavity the host will supply. Fourth, the bare-driver rows without a declared cavity are the single largest reason two short-listed parts look interchangeable on the page and are not on the bench. Fifth, the max-to-rated ratio has to be re-stated per row, together with the supplier's definition, rather than assumed uniform.
Worked example
Two candidate parts shortlisted for a wall-panel voice-prompt channel looked interchangeable on the datasheet page. Hongsheng bench measurement applied the same four SPL conditions to both: an HS-BX-1217-X10 (1217 BOX front, 95 dB, fixed-voltage basis) and an HS003050H (free-field 2.0 W, 97 dB, cavity not stated). Converting both to a 1 W basis in a declared 4 cc host gave the BOX part a roughly 4 dB advantage — a margin the page-level reading had missed entirely. The Hongsheng recommendation logged the cavity-disclosure requirement on the bare-driver row before RFQ went out.
6. Applicable Standards for Comparable Test Conditions
Short answer: Where a datasheet is silent on its basis, the relevant standard is the framework to ask about: IEC 60268-5 for loudspeakers, IEC 60268-7 for headphone and earphone measurement methods, IEC 61260 for band filters.
Where the datasheet is silent on a basis, the standard that covers the test is the fallback. Cite the standard for the test condition, then ask the supplier to confirm which condition they actually used.
Table 5: Standards relevant to comparable testing of micro speaker sensitivity, power and impedance.
Standard | Title | What it covers |
IEC 60268-5:2018 | Sound system equipment — Part 5: Loudspeakers | Free-field sensitivity, rated and maximum power, frequency response, distortion and impedance — the primary transducer standard |
IEC 60268-7 | Sound system equipment — Part 7: Headphones and earphones | Measurement methods for headphones and earphones, including ear-coupled arrangements. Receiver-class components may therefore be characterised under conditions that are not directly comparable with free-field loudspeaker sensitivity |
IEC 61260 | Electroacoustics — Octave-band and fractional-octave-band filters | Band-filter definitions used in some SPL readings, including A-weighted figures |
AES2 | Standard on specifying loudspeaker driver parameters | Conventions for driver parameters including equivalent compliance volume (Vas), used in enclosure calculations |
Where a datasheet quotes a basis that does not appear above, flag it to the supplier. Standards are real and verifiable, and so are deviations; the useful question is whether a non-standard basis was chosen deliberately for a specific application, or whether the datasheet simply omitted the condition.
7. FAQ: Comparing SPL, Power and Impedance Numbers
Q1. Can I rank 95 dB and 99 dB micro speakers by SPL alone?
A1. Only if both figures share the same basis and the same cavity volume. A 95 dB part measured at 1 cc and a 99 dB part measured at 4 cc can produce very similar output in the same host cavity; a free-field 95 dB and a coupler 123 dB are not comparable at all.
Q2. Why does the voltage on the F0 line not match the rated power?
A2. It is the F0 measurement voltage, and on many datasheets it follows V = √(rated power × rated impedance) — 2.83 V for 1 W into 8 Ω or 2 W into 4 Ω. Where it does not match, the part was measured at a different drive level or against a different impedance. Treat the line as a self-consistency check and ask the supplier if it does not line up.
Q3. Should I plan the program at rated or at max power?
A3. Use rated power as the reference for continuous operation and treat max as a limit to be confirmed rather than a budget to be spent. Because the two terms are not defined identically across suppliers, confirm the test signal, duration, distortion criterion and failure criterion before fixing the operating point.
Q4. Is DC resistance close to nominal impedance?
A4. DCR is typically somewhat below nominal impedance, but the ratio depends on the driver design and should be taken from the supplier's own specification. What matters for incoming inspection is whether a part matches that specified DCR: a reading at or above nominal suggests shorted turns, and an open reading suggests a broken coil.
Q5. What happens if I run a 4 Ω micro speaker on an amplifier rated for 8 Ω?
A5. The load requests roughly twice the design current, which trips thermal foldback in many Class-D amplifiers and can damage a linear output stage. A higher-impedance load than the amplifier is rated for is generally the safer direction: less output, but inside the design envelope.
More in This Series — Micro Speaker Specifications
This is the second of three articles on micro speaker specifications. The third covers what resonance frequency actually does to the sound you hear, and how cavity choice affects the F0 you observe at the bench.
· Part 1 — Micro Speaker Specifications: What OEM Engineers Should Check Before Selection → https://www.hsdz-spk.com/news/532.html
· Part 3 — Micro Speaker F0 Explained: How Resonance Frequency Affects Sound Quality → https://www.hsdz-spk.com/news/534.html
8. Summary
Three rules make a micro speaker comparison table honest. First, sensitivity is a number plus four conditions — drive level, distance, frequency and enclosure — and only the four together permit a ranking. Second, rated and maximum power are labels whose meaning varies by supplier: use rated as the continuous reference and confirm the maximum figure's test method rather than treating it as headroom. Third, impedance is a package deal: the class carries an amplifier commitment, roughly twice the current at 4 Ω versus 8 Ω on a fixed rail, and a mismatch in the wrong direction trips protection or damages the output stage.
Applying those three rules at RFQ rather than at PPAP removes most of the cavity-and-rail rework that dominates the risk register for this product class. The practical next step for a team that has shortlisted two or three drivers is to put the host cavity volume and the amplifier rail voltage into the same table and re-rank with all four SPL conditions visible on every row. The next article in this series turns to the F0 line of that table and what it actually means once the driver is in a box.